Nowadays computers are widely used in education. As a result, some people think teachers no longer play important roles in classrooms. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most schools and universities have already adopted computers in their teaching process. Many people believed that computers will replace teachers in the foreseeable future thus teachers will not play a significant role as they used to. I completely disagree with this view and believe that teachers will always be of great importance in the educational sphere.

On the one hand, computers undeniably have a positive impact on the learning process. They remarkably help facilitate the pace at which children assimilate the information. Though graphics and visual demonstrations are being introduced in classrooms, yet they are still in a small number and not on a frequent basis. Computers and projectors could address this problem and serve a perfect demonstrator for what has been learned in lessons through lively images and videos. Moreover, enrichment evening classes are no longer needed thanks to computers, as learners who do not catch up in classes can make use of online courses in a more flexible way than that of any other supplementary courses.

However, computers cannot supplant teachers for many good reasons. Teachers do not only impart knowledge to their students, but they also serve as a role model as well as cultivate students’ potential. Impulsive and impressionable as they are, children are inevitably vulnerable to anti-social behavior and wrongdoings. Without the presence of teachers in classrooms to discipline and correct them, they are likely to grow into violent and even criminal adults. Moreover, students need a person to chart their learning progress and offer them valuable advice. This cannot be done in a class completely dominated by computers and other such technological devices. Despite advancement in the algorithms that give computers the capacity to assessment, it is genuine advice from the people that students respect that make a real difference in their learning progress.

In conclusion, computers definitely have a beneficial impact on education. However, teachers are irreplaceable companions of students in their learning course.