Everyone should adopt a vegetarian diet because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that adopting a vegetarian could be greatly beneficial in terms of avoiding serious health problems that a diet including an excessive amount of meat can cause. I partly agree with this view, however, people could alternatively choose to take less meat and adding more vegetables to their diet.

On the one hand, a vegetarian diet can have a positive impact on people’s health. Firstly, animal fats are more likely than vegetable fats to cause arteriosclerosis, leading to premature old age. Secondly, people from all parts of the world who avoid meat are less liable to cancer than meat-eaters. Moreover, statistical studies have shown that people who have always been vegetarian live longer than those having a large proportion of meat in their diet on a regular basis. These benefits clearly prove the superiority of vegetarianism over the consuming of meat.

However, conversion into vegetarianism is unnecessary if people could properly alter their diets. Increasing the proportion of vegetables in one’s diet while at the same time cutting down on the amount of meat is a viable alternative to a non-meat diet. In this way, people are able to enjoy the advantage and enjoyment of a meat diet while helping the less liable to those medical problems associated with consuming an immoderate amount of meat. That people have been greatly accustomed to taking meat over a long period is a reason why a complete transition to a non-meat diet could be nearly impossible to some.

In conclusion, vegetarianism could be greatly beneficial to people’s health. However, a scientifically balanced diet which still allows people to eat meat could be preferable to those who cannot give up meat altogether.