In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In many parts of the world, notably in metropolis areas, there has been a shift from living in large families towards small family units or even alone. As far as I am concerned, this trend is a negative one.

Firstly, people living in small family units enjoy less family support than those sharing the same roof with their extended family members. In the latter pattern of family, the older generations can help to ease the burden of childcare while working parents go out to work. Thus, they are not likely to hire babysitters or nannies like many parents in smaller homes do. This, in turn, could immensely alleviate the financial burden that they are bearing on shoulders. Secondly, the absence of grandparents or other relatives as role models could negatively affect the children. This leads to the fact that television and the Internet become the dominant influences on children’s behavior. Though these sources of impact may largely positively contribute to the attitude and behavior of children, they may well too variegated in terms of steering children’s perspectives. Owning to their impressionable age, children still do not have the capability to distinguish the rights from wrongs. For example, they may perceive violence as acceptable for it is still portrayed and endorsed in various movies.

On the other hand, the trend towards smaller family units could bring along with them the psychological effects of less human interaction. Given the paucity of free time that working parents spend with their children, passive distractions, such as TVs, increasingly come into domination of a child’s normal day. This could, in the long term, detrimentally affect them, both mentally and physically. Moreover, the lack of real interaction between each other make either parents or children find themselves isolated and alienated that may contribute to worsening their quality of life.

In conclusion, living alone or in nuclear families could bring adverse effects to a person’s life quality. The lack of childcare help and of communication between people is the main drawbacks of this change of living pattern.