In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It appears that life style has changed alot today particularly the way families live in their houses. while some people prefer to live in apartments, others choose the villas as a perfect place for them. In my opinion, Each life style has its advantages and drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss the negative and positive impact of these choices.

scientific studies shows that living in villas with your big family can protect you from psychological disorders such as depression, anxiety and social phobia, amongst others. In my case, I lived with my parents, grand parent ,aunts, uncles and their small Families in one villa. As aresult, I was able to communicate with everybody and gain self-confidence which helped me to improve my presentation skills infront of public. Despite of the benefits I gained, I suffered from being surrounded by unbearable noise due to the huge number of persons living with me.

On the other hand, living in apartement with small family guarantee for you a higher privacy, because everyone has its own space. For instance, you have your private bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. As a result, you can do whatever you want at any time of the day without waiting for your turn. However, This kind of living raise selfish kids who are not able to share as they didn’t get the opportunity to familiarise with the sharing concept in their small families.

In conclusion, you should keep contact with your big family and create strong relationships with them whether you are living with them or not.