In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

With the advent of modern cities and growing population, living spaces have become small, consequently joint family is a rarity. This essay argues that this is a positive trend because of low financial cost and more freedom in nuclear families. First, the essay will discuss why small family units are financially more stable, then it will put some light on why more freedom and private space is essential.

In past years, the cost of living has risen up that is why it is essential for everyone at home to earn money. Previously, not everyone at home used to contribute to household spends but nowadays it is not possible to run a house on a single person’s earning that is why the cost of maintaining a small family is low. Therefore, the money left can be used for the betterment of children’s education or on other development activities such as sports. Additionally, savings of a small family are more and thus it becomes easy for a small family to deal with hospital expenses.

Large family needs more space, therefore, individual private space becomes small. This leads to constant interference of others and becomes the reason for the unrest. For example, if there are children of different ages at home and one child wants to study but the other wants to play a video game on full volume then this creates a problem for both of the children. Also, everyone requires some private space for creativity and other important routines. Plus, individuals can make their own decisions without any approval of other members.

In conclusion, our cities have more and more small family units now and this in my opinion is a positive trend because nuclear families are more economically sound and have more private space which has led to a better life style among people.