In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Urbanization has led to large cities but small living spaces and consequently nuclear or one-individual families. The rarity of extended families is a negative trend because big families produce well-rounded children and elderly support is lacking in small families. This essay discusses the advantages of a joint family over a small family.

Growing up can be hard and emotionally tiring. Character building is better when children are surrounded by unconditional love and care which is natural in a joint family. This inculcates traits like humbleness and kindness in the children. Sharing and caring is better learned in such family environment only where everyone is living together. Children learn to express themselves better in a big family situation which enhances their role as a part of the family. Thus, they are reared better in large families.

Grandparents are a source of immense support, be it financial or emotional. A united family is always economically sound given elders are self-sufficient. Additionally, the presence of elderly relative ensures the security of children. For instance, if parents are out for work then they do not need to hire any babysitter or in case children want to go and play in a park then grandparents take joy in accompanying kids. Old aged relatives also make kids aware of any possible danger they might face. Therefore, they are a source of moral support for youngsters.

In conclusion, living in small family units rather than extended family groups is not a positive trend as it leads to hindrance in the all-round development of children and lack of grand-parental support.