Some findings have revealed that cities around the world are growing large. Could you outline the possible causes and predicts consequences?

Several statistical findings have highlighted the trend that cities around the world are becoming increasingly larger. This essay will suggest some main reasons and possible outcomes of this trend.

One of the chief contributors to the expanding of cities would be the fast-growing population. As the population is booming, there is an urgent need for production to feed a large number of people. Apart from the forming of new cities, existing ones continue to grow larger in size to accommodate an increasing population. Another possible cause would be the fact that key industries, which offer large proportion of employment opportunity, often concentrate around large metropolises. As a consequence, floods of people who are searching for jobs will likely to move to large these areas to make a living.

There are many repercussions that a heavily-populated city may bring. Firstly, it exacerbates the problem of insufficient housing and transport facilities. In fast-developing cities like Ho Chi Minh city, for example, people are struggling to afford a house and a large proportion of the working population are living in dreadful accommodation. Secondly, there will be fierce competition for jobs in nearly every sphere. This will lead to a situation where the ablest candidates will be selected, while the rest of other competent but less satisfactory ones will be forced to take on the job which would not make the best use of the potential, or even worse, does not relate to their majors. Another undesirable result would be the detrimental effects on the environment. Overpopulation in cosmopolitan areas leads to a greater amount of carbon dioxin emitting, coupled with the heavy industrial gas emission from factories in the vicinity.

In conclusion, a growing population and the convergence of industrial areas around a city are the main reasons explaining the growing of it. This development would bring several consequences to individuals and the environment as well.