Topic: Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that starvation and poverty could only be addressed by the economic progress, while others contend that allowing the progress of economy will inevitably affect the environment in a damaging way and so it must be stopped. In my opinion, the welfare of our own humankind is of vital importance and we cannot afford it without damaging the environment. Therefore, the sustainable development concept is preferable to any state’s economic policy.

Economic growth has always been the most sensible way to go for ending hunger and poverty all over the world. By spurring the economic progress, more jobs are created to feed such development. People, in turn, joining the workforce where they contribute actively and get paid to afford food and other necessities. In fact, as seen in most industrialized nations, the numbers of people living under the poverty line are far fewer than those in the underdeveloped ones such as Asian and much of Africa. Statistically, economic growth index is directly proportional to the poverty rate and there is no other way of addressing the problem in question in the absence of economic development.

On the other hand, there is incontrovertible evidence that human is the major contributor to environmental destruction. To serve the purpose of boosting the economy, we have heavily exploited natural resources for farmlands, accommodation, and industrial material input, for example. This leads to global warming expected to cause climate catastrophe that ultimately causes a heavy toll for human beings in the foreseeable future. Developing the economy in a sustainable way will effectively deal with the two above problems. Nations should be forced to adopt a policy in which economic progress is coupled with sustainable resources’ exploitation as well as the widespread deployment of environmental improvement such as binding emissions targets. Only when such policy is effectively enforced at a global level, humans are able to avoid suffering and dying either from hunger or climate disasters.

In conclusion, humans could alleviate serious repercussions to the environment by forcing every country on the globe to adopt sustainable economic development along with many other environmental protection policies. In any case, human survival and prosperity should be our first priority and environmental destruction is an inevitable sacrifice to achieve such aim as was in the past.