Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that community service without payment should be made compulsory for high school students. I completely disagree with this view due to the scarcity of a student’s time and to the undesirable output of work that any kind of compulsory policy may bring.

On the one hand, as a full-time student, a teenager has a limited amount of time as an ordinary nine-to-five worker does. Apart from attending classes in school hour, a typical high school student is often preoccupied with the colossal amount of homework assigned by nearly every teacher. Besides, the pressure of constant examinations coupled with the need for creating a good-looking academic record by involving in extracurricular activities literally render them exhausted. Thus, it is almost impossible for students to overtake one more activity which is regarded as compulsory. It would be better should the amount of their spare time is spent either for recreational activities or with their family and friends.

On the other hand, the results produced by students through this kind of policy may well be below standard and undesirable. Firstly, instead of spending their time playing computer games with friends, they have to take part in an activity which does not give them any financial rewards but also deprived of their time. This, in the long run, will be likely to cause resentment and condemnation among teenagers. Consequently, they tend to perform the job half-heartedly, thus bringing about the unproductive results which would be otherwise better if done out of their own volition. It can be suggested that there would be performance appraisal after a task has been done. However, no one will expect punishment to be imposed on those who do not meet the given standard. Therefore, quality of work would be unlikely to be improved, or even worse, would gradually be declined.

In conclusion, it is neither sensible nor practical to oblige high school students to do unpaid work. This will not be in the interest of both students and society.