In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think maybe the reasons for this? what problems might this cause to society?

It is true that a large proportion of young people nowadays show little respect to the older generation. There are many reasons for this, and in the long terms, this trend will adversely affect both the development of young individuals and society as a whole.

One of the main cause of the lack of respect among young people is the dominated trend nuclear family settings. As people live in smaller and more dispersed families, they have fewer time and occasions to interact with their older relations. This results in the lack of empathy and sympathy towards their relatives as well as other older ones. Secondly, in the world which individualism lifestyle is becoming the norm, some people have misunderstood this way of living. They tend to value their own personal rights over others’ ones and believe that it is true to criticize others regardless of their age in order to protect that right. This attitude is likely to associate with many problems such as improper behaviors and wrongdoings to the senior.

This will result in the unacceptable attitude and behavior to the older, even their relatives or their parents. Children without respect for their loved ones will also neglect their responsibility of taking care for their parents as they’re old. At the extreme, insufficient respect may lead to wrongdoings like stealing their own parents’ assets or exercise violence on them. From the societal perspective, a community without rightful attitude to the elderly will left them uncared for and living in a meaningless and joyless part of lives.

In conclusion, modern lifestyles have led to inappropriate behavior and attitude towards older generations which can cause several problems to young individuals as well as social development.