Everyone should adopt a vegetarian diet because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that adopting a vegetarian diet could be greatly beneficial in terms of avoiding serious health problems that a meat diet can cause. I partly agree with this view, however, people could otherwise choose to take less meat and adding more vegetables to their diet.

On the one hand, a vegetarian diet can have a positive impact on people’s health. People who choose to completely abstain from meat are known for having a greater life expectancy than those choosing not to. This differences in longevity between vegetarian and meat-eaters could be explained by the very nature of animal fats against vegetable fats. Particularly, fats derived from animals is more likely than that from plants and fruits to cause arteriosclerosis which mainly contribute to premature old age and ensuing medical problems of such disease. Moreover, an excessive intake of meat, especially of high-fat meat, could greatly enhance the levels of stress, and even worse, make people more susceptible to depression.

However, conversion into vegetarianism is unnecessary if people could properly alter their diets. Increasing the proportion of vegetables in one’s diet while at the same time cutting down on the amount of meat is a viable alternative to a non-meat diet. By doing this, people are able to enjoy the advantage and enjoyment of a meat diet while helping them less liable to those medical problems associated with consuming red meat. On the other side, people having been greatly accustomed to taking meat over a long period is the reason why a complete change to a non-meat diet could be arduous and challenging to some.

In conclusion, vegetarianism could greatly benefit people's health. However, a scientifically balanced diet which still allows people to eat meat could be preferable to those who cannot give up meat altogether.