Every year several languages die out, some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many languages spoken by minority groups of people have disappeared in recent years. This can be seen by some as an opportunity to simplify our life as more languages existing means that more effort is needed to understand and interpret them. However, I completely disagree with this view because the language has a crucial role to play in the cultural and traditional preservation of any community.

There are some reasons why a decrease in the number of languages will help to make human life less complicated. As international integration and co-operation are facilitated in an attempt to improve the world economic developments, understanding and communication capacity is required to efficiently process any business deals or peace-seeking negotiation. People thereby have to learn one or even two more foreign languages to make themselves employable in labor markets. Moreover, the fact that technological and medical equipment are largely imported in most countries causes difficulties for practitioners and engineers to operate them in relation to their safety and efficiency. As a result, more time and effort have to be put just into taking control of such equipment.

On the other hand, language is the central part of a nation’s heritage and seen as the foundation of the development and uphold other forms of cultural and social identity. Without the ability to speak and understand their mother tongues, for example, younger generations can neither acknowledge their own ancestors’ historical events and milestones nor make a comprehensive interpretation of antique artworks, both of which effectively function in conveying cultural and social values to the next generations. Therefore, they cannot afford a sense of identity and lose track of their own history.

In conclusion, people should not make economic progress at the cost of losing their identity. Language preservation should be considered as a top priority of ones seeking to lead a fulfilling and meaningful life.