People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

It is true that modern family members are spending less time for each other. There are several reasons for this and repercussions it may cause.

This trend could be attributed to the increasing workload of parents. Although people are having more labor-saving devices, the amount of work of which they are in charge has become heavier. Overtime working or weekend shifts now is being a compulsory part of many people’s job and more people are being hired on the basis that they’re willing to work at weekends. Therefore, work commitment means that they can’t afford much quality time for their offspring. Technological gadgets could be another prime culprit for reduced family time. Ironically, people could sit together as a part of their family routine but they’re mostly paying attention to smartphones or television. This shouldn’t be defined as truly family gatherings because there are no genuine interaction and communication between family members.

Having less time for family gatherings could have detrimental impacts on people’s quality of life. Firstly, less interaction could weaken the ties and bonds between children and their parents. As children grow up, they’re having different preferences and points of view. Given less opportunity to express these changes, children will be more likely to be misunderstood as their parents will keep treating them as before. As a result, they no longer want to confide things in their parents or even bottle up their feelings. Secondly, children’s mental development can suffer if there’s not enough family time for them. Without having parents sit down and listen to their problems, children are more likely to make ill-informed decisions which can get them into trouble.

In conclusion, tight schedules of working parents and technological advances are the main reasons why family time now is decreased . This trend could lead to many adverse effects on both parents and children.