People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

It is true that modern family members are spending less time for each other. There are several reasons for this and repercussions it may cause.

This trend could be attributed to the increasing workload of parents. Although people are having more labor-saving devices, the amount of work of which they are in charge has become heavier. Overtime working or weekend shifts now is being a compulsory part of many people’s job and more people are hired on the basis that they’re willing to work at weekends. Therefore, work commitment means that they can’t afford much quality time for their offspring. Technological gadgets could be another prime culprit for reduced family time. Ironically, people might sit together as part of their family routine but they’re mostly paying attention to smartphones or television. This shouldn’t be defined as truly family gatherings because there is no genuine interaction and sharing.

Having less time for family gatherings could have detrimental impacts on people’s quality of life. Firstly, less interaction could weaken the bonds between children and their parents. As children grow up, they have developed different preferences and standpoints. Given less opportunity to express these changes, children are more likely to be misunderstood as their parents will keep treating them as before. As a result, they no longer want to confide things in their parents or shy away from talking to them. Secondly, children’s life can suffer if there’s not enough family time for them. Without getting due parental attention, children are more likely to make ill-informed decisions which can put them into trouble. In fact, many anti-social teenagers are often reported to have absent parents or live far away from home.

In conclusion, tight working schedules of parents and technology are the main reasons why family time is now reduced. This trend could lead to many adverse effects on both parents and children.