Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action.

It is argued that environmental issues are not successfully dealt with by individuals, whereas others believe that it is impossible for the government to resolve these problems without individual efforts. I believe that such problems are only successfully dealt with by concerted efforts of both the government and its citizens.

On the one hand, individual citizens do not have the resource and authority to successfully protect the environment. Firstly, many of the desires to make environmentally sound choices of citizens are not fulfilled in reality. For instance, decisions to switch from commuting by car to public transportation are discouraged by the fact that such changes will take more time and convenience away from the commuters, for buses or trains are not well-developed and invested in most countries. Secondly, environmentally conscious decisions will continue to be expensive unless there are some actions from the authority. Despite being aware of the importance of living a plastic-free life, alternatives to plastic products are still costly and, therefore, out of reach to most people. Therefore, unless businesses choose to sacrifice part of its profits to go green, and provides cleaner offerings, leading a no-plastic life remains most people’s last option.

However, the government alone cannot tackle environmental problems. Any schemes introduced to the public should be well received and implemented at a household level if environmental protection is to be guaranteed. For example, a tree-planting scheme is not powerful enough to reverse climate change if just superficially conducted by the government. It should be every individual or, at least, every home’s agenda to have more green space across the nation. Another example would be the campaign encouraging more cycling to and from work. Without any real action from every person, the initiative will not make any difference to the environment.

In conclusion, the government and individuals should go hand in hand to protect the planet. In the absence of any party, it will be impossible to solve any environmental problems.