Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Some students, notably who are living in major cities, are able to stay with their families while embarking on university life, while others have to leave their hometown and start an entirely independent life in the pursuit of higher education. There are advantages and disadvantages to such two situations.

There are certain benefits and drawbacks to a student of not leaving home to continue their studies. Students and other members of the family are still able to spend time together and therefore tightening familial bonds. They are, in any case, not likely to afford their time for their old loved ones who may have very little time left in their life to expend. Moreover, students remaining to stay with families could feel an immediate sense of support and incentive as physical interactions and direct conversation have a powerful impact on those involved. However, staying with families could have a disruptive impact on a student’s educational progress. University life is known to encompass various activities let alone absorbing knowledge in lectures, therefore it sometimes requires student’s engagement in lucubrations which often happen in the campus site. Parent’s concern and stricture in form of curfew hours, for example, will possibly preclude the possibilities of students embracing their university life in the fullest sense.

On the other hand, students living away from home also faces challenges. When starting an entirely different life, students in the first place may fail to assimilate themselves into the new society. This is aggravated by the lack of their loved ones’ company that eventually causes a student to plunge into mental problems such as depression. In addition, insufficient parental guidance due to the geographical barrier is contributed to students’ vulnerability to anti-social behaviors and even criminal activities. However, there are certain advantages to a student’s living on their own. During the university period, they would develop a sense of independence and self-sufficiency along the way. Indeed, they will come to cope with troublesome situations themselves such as financial decision-making and personal relationships in the absence of the family’s help. Also, a majority of college-goes manage to find part-time jobs to cover their daily expenses. These experiences would certainly have a beneficial effect on their upcoming working lives.

In conclusion, depending on their personal circumstances, students can decide whether to stay with their families. There are clearly potential advantages and disadvantages of both alternatives.