Some people say it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views on whether a country could enjoy both economic prosperity and a clean environment at the same time. I believe that such goals could be simultaneously achieved.

On the one hand, there are good reasons why some people fear that the economic success of one nation must be at the expense of the environment. It can be seen that, after the industrialization stage of developed countries, a carbon dioxide legacy has been left to the atmosphere, causing today’s global warming phenomenon. As a result, although these nations stepped out of this phase with great economic results, they also wreaked havoc on the environment on a global scale. I can say the same about many of the developing countries which sacrifice their healthy environments in exchange for a greater economic growth rate. For example, Viet Nam in the past exported obsolete machine components, which was considered technology trash in industrialized countries, due to their cheap prices and ignored the fact that these items were detrimental to the environment.

However, it is possible for a country to be both environmentally responsible and economically successful. For instance, Singapore, which is a rising economic Asian giant, is ranked the cleanest country in the world. Such crowning achievements are largely due to the government’s emphasis on environmental sustainability while devising their economy-related policy. They forgo the fast growth rate of the economy, and instead gradually develop with consideration for the environment. For example, instead of adopting the unlimited consumption of oil and coal, they put a limit on the use of these resources, thus at least preventing the hazardous level of air pollution as opposed to India or other countries.

In conclusion, in my opinion, it is possible for a country to be both successful in developing its economy and preserving the environment.