In some countries, advertisers increase the amount of advertising which tries to persuade children to buy snacks, toys and other goods. Parents object to such pressure on children. But some advertisers claim that there is useful information in these advertisements.

It is true that the amount of advertisements which target children is increasing, and that parents regard this as a pressure to which they strongly object. However, advertisers reason that advertisements are an effective way of passing useful information about the products for consumers. I believe that despite its merits, advertising aiming at children should be more rigorously controlled.

On the one hand, it is true that advertisements, for the most part, serve to provide viewers with useful knowledge about the product itself. For example, without the advertising video for Grow Plus milk, which clearly states the purpose of the product is for underweight and undernourished teenagers, parents would more likely to mistake its function as other general dairy products’. As a result, obese children who happen to drink that milk are the most likely to suffer. A further example would be the advantage of the caution content presented in most children-targeted advertisements. As children’s bodies have not yet fully developed, any medical complications associated with the misuse of products could have a long-term impact on children’s further development.

However, it is no doubt that advertisements have undesirable outcomes for both parents and children. Firstly, they perhaps place financial as well as mental burdens on parents. Although parents can afford to satiate their children’s desire to buy things, surely most of them are not pleased to spend their hard-earned money on something of little or no material use. Secondly, advertisements could spark competition between children. When a child brags about their newly afforded toy, others would probably feel a sense of envy, thus causing them to ask their parents for one. Unfortunately, such competitions promote a culture of materialism and consumerism which they could barely get rid of in their later.

In conclusion, advertisements for children have both positive and negative impacts. Therefore, it is sensible to introduce stricter regulations to mitigate undesirable outcomes.