Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

More convenience and amusement brought by engaging in computer games than in physical exercise lead the young leaning their attention toward those electronic products instead of doing sports. This trend is negatively linked with their physical and mental welfare

The trend first results from the facility and comfort brought by the prosperity of computer gaming industry. What we have to admit is that it is easy for today’s children to start a battle or competition at any time in front of a laptop or desk screen due to better CPUs and swift internet connection. Meanwhile, the living surroundings for most children, however, put harsh obstacles on their willingness to do outdoor exercises. Communities are squeezed together, providing limited space for people and hardly room for kids to play. Children may have travel farther to athletic facilities, but may have to wait for a vacancy when seeing too many exerciser doing physical activities, or for an opportunity to gather all their teammates at one time, which would never be a problem in cyber arena –millions of partners and rivals are waiting all around the world.

It is hardly far-fetched to imagine just how the situation would negatively impact on our next generation, not only in terms of their physical conditions, but of the mentality and personality formation. Health problems may be initially witnessed when children not to go out for sports, but to enscone themselves permanently in front of LCD monitors: ocular disorder may happen due to their long term staring. Besides, vicious skeletal development triggered by staying at the chair may bring out life-long damage to them during their puberty. Escapism fostered by excessive game playing would highly weaken their ability to solve real problems, since those being immature, with low control of their emotions may definitely avoid difficulties by fleeing into the virtually heroic world, where they can sense achievement by just moving the fingers on their keyboard and mouse.

In conclusion, the electronic product boom and the relatively sluggish condition of the sports industy may give rise to deviation of children from doing regular physical activities to becoming addicted to computer games, and this definitely provokes blight on their bodies and personal character.