Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that scientific studies should be conducted by governments instead of companies. While it is true that the authorities need to be responsible for carrying out research, I would argue that these activities should also be done by private companies.

To begin with, there are some benefits of governments taking care of scientific research. Firstly, as governments of different countries can co-operate with each other, they may be able to conduct studies on a larger scale which require larger investment. For instance, they can carry out research into ways of dealing with global warming. Secondly, unlike private companies, governments tend to pay more attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues or crime rates are great examples. By contrast, companies usually only focus on maximising profits rather than helping all citizens.

However, I believe that private companies should also share the responsibility to conduct scientific research. The first reason is that this could help to ease the pressure on government’s budget. As a result, citizens would have to pay lower taxes, and the authorities would also have more cash to spend on other important areas such as education or military. Another reason is that since the top priority of companies is to earn money, they would have more motivation to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. For example, a company called Tesla has been carrying out extensive research in order to produce electric cars and bring them to the market.

In conclusion, I believe that both governments and private companies should be involved in research activities.