Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, the trend of children allocating a wealth of time to the absorption in computer games and neglecting physical workout has garnered much attention in today’s world. While this tendency has some positive effects on individuals as well as their cognitive development, I contend that the negative impacts of this trend overshadow its merits.

A few reasons can be given to justify the trend of a majority of children wasting time engaging in computer games. The primary reason is that state-of-the-art electronic devices are now popularized and straightforward to attract the attention of adolescence. In the long run, the over-indulgence of making use of these gadgets may act as a catalyst for several health problems, which can be attributable to the degradation of children’s study process. Another significant reason is that the boom in buildings and shopping malls in megacities have become more congested than ever leaving no room for children to enjoy outdoor activities. As a result, a number of morning exercise could be phased out as a corollary of the reluctance of children involving in sport activities.

Overall, the drawbacks of such a development, far eclipsing the profitable sides. A major disadvantage is that children playing such types of video games may distract the cognition and the flexibility of their whole bodies, which is implemented in their habits. For example, some violent video games such as Crossfire and PUBG interacting with followers have a decentralizing effect on the younger generation. Another drawback is that once the young citizens represent a large part of the population, there may be a shortage of elite talents, magnified the fact that the local recruitment of promising sport players has been challenging. Take India as a prime example. This country witnessed a large number of outstanding talents in the latter half of the twentieth century, but nowadays, obesity has reached epidemic percentages due to an increase in active gamers.

In conclusion, the two most legitimate reasons as to why children expend all their time on computer games in lieu of doing physical exercise are the great impacts of technology and the unwillingness to be a part of a community maintaining an active lifestyle. This development is negative to society at large, despite some benefits are claimed. It is anticipated that this trend, together with its downsides, will be prevalent in the near future.