Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that many youngsters can stay at their hometowns to study university while the others have to travel to other cities to pursue higher education after graduating from high school. There are advantages and disadvantages of both these situations.

If university students are able to live with their families, there are both merits and drawbacks. Firstly, one major advantage is that they are able to economize because they do not have to pay for accommodation. Secondly, they enjoy family support in terms of meal, home entertainments, washing machine… However, this situation may has disadvantages. Living in home means they have to study under supervision then it is more difficult to take part in social activities to master vital skills. For instance, some students were prohibited to go out after dinner and cannot participate in those events without the acceptance from their parents.

Regarding to living away from home, there are obviously some advantages. The most significant benefit is that they can live independently and achieve necessary skills. With less support from home, they learn to do all household works from cooking, washing to fixing electronic devices. Some students are even do a lot of part-time jobs to bear the cost of living and tuition fees. These factors will help to enhance their CV when they seek for a job in the future. By contrast, unlike the one who can stay with family, they have to face with the high cost of accommodation and have limited opportunities to enjoy family reunions.

In conclusion, while there will clearly be differences in the personal circumstances of individual university students, some advantages and disadvantages of living at home or away from home are identified.