Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

When starting to attend university, you wonder whether living with parents is better than living on your own. On one hand, staying at home is convenient for the student to concentrate on his academic goals. However, on the other hand, the students gain more freedom when they have to be responsible for their actions and as well as consequences.

With regard to living with your family, university students are able to focus on their studies. Parents would provide every fundamental necessity such as tuition fees together with pocket money and transportation, all of which are vital to university life nowadays. On top of that whenever the students get home from school, they don't have to make a shopping list for dinner ingredients, nor do they have to prepare and cook the meals. However, relying too much on their parents will prevent the student from the opportunities to learn soft skills and look after themselves. Despite this lack of self-reliance, the students still can focus on achieving academic success.

As far as living alone is concerned, the students can improve themselves to become a mature individual. It is undeniable that in addition to schoolwork, the student must also plan to do housework efficiently. For example, the students might have to think about what they are going to make for breakfast the night before so that they will be in class on time. Moreover, not only does the student have to make a budget for daily expenses, but some might also have to find a part-time job to finance themselves. As a consequence, their study time at home might be lower as compared to those who stay with their families.

In conclusion, both living at home and living independently have their own pros and cons. Academic excellence can be obtained at the cost of practical life skills, and vice versa.