Some people think the government should pay for healthcare and education but there is no agreement about whether it is the government’s responsibility? What is your opinion?

Much attention has been drawn to the debate whether the authority should play a certain role in the medical and educational field. This essay, however, believes that the citizens need to be responsible for themselves. Not only will the quality of medical service be reduced without the financial support from the population, but the teaching productivity of teachers may also decline.

In terms of the medical role, the government should not be the only responsible agency. Assuming health check-up cost nothing, hospital would be crowded with flocks of people. As a consequence, too many patients could heavily overload doctors, which might adversely affect work performance. Besides, when hospitals receive private funding from its admission fee, which oftentimes is higher than governmental investment, the outdated facilities will either be replaced with cutting-edge ones or upgraded to another version which meets the new standards. Although the government can share the responsibility by offering health insurance, additional support from the citizens is needed.

As for the educational aspect, free-of-charge schooling system potentially leads to lower productivity for both teachers and students. Nowadays, academic institutions are divided into different classifications according to the tuition they charge the enrolling students. When a family decides to put their children through an international school, the parents want the best for their kids and agree to pay a higher amount of fees for higher quality in return. For instance, more expensive and elite schools provide students with room and board on campus, sports arena as well as well-equipped laboratory for chemistry or biology experiments. If the government takes control of every school in the state, limits will be set on the tuition fees, which affects the teacher income, and in turn their motivation to teach.

In conclusion, putting all of the healthcare and educational responsibilities on the government also means putting the brakes on service quality. It is best to keep things the way they are and let the community share that duty.