Everyone should adopt a vegetarian diet because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that adopting a vegetarian diet could be greatly beneficial in terms of avoiding serious health problems that a diet including an excessive amount of meat can cause. I partly agree with this view, however, people could alternatively choose to take less meat and adding more vegetables to their diet.

On the one hand, a vegetarian diet can have a positive impact on people’s health. Firstly, animal fats are more likely than vegetable fats to cause arteriosclerosis, leading to premature old age. Secondly, people from all parts of the world who avoid meat are less liable to cancer than meat-eaters. Moreover, statistical studies have shown that people who have always been vegetarians live longer than those having a large proportion of meat in their diet on a regular basis. These benefits above could clearly prove the superiority of vegetarianism over the consumer of meat.

However, conversion into vegetarianism is unnecessary if people could properly alter their diets. Increasing the proportion of vegetables in one’s diet while at the same time cutting down on the amount of meat is a viable alternative to a non-meat diet. By doing this, people are able to enjoy the advantage and enjoyment of a meat diet while helping them less liable to those medical problems associated with consuming red meat. That people have been greatly accustomed to taking meat over a long period is the reason why a complete change to a non-meat diet could be arduous to some.

In conclusion, vegetarianism could greatly benefit people's health. However, a scientifically balanced diet which still allows people to eat meat could be preferable to those who cannot give up meat altogether.