Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as other houses in the area. Others think that the local councils should allow people to build houses in any style they want

It is a controversial issue as to whether newly-built houses should be built in the same style as existing homes in the same area; or whether the residents should have permission to construct their houses in their own style. My view is that people should be given the permission to build their houses in their own design, as long as these designs satisfy the safety requirements.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why all buildings in a particular area should have the same style. Firstly, when houses look similar it will enhance a sense of community and equality in a residential area. This is because a house often reflects the wealth and social status of its owner. If a house looks older, smaller, and less attractive than others, the people living there may feel inferior and less confident when socialising with their neighbours. In contrast, a house which stands out in the neighbourhood would make its owner the target of gossip and burglary. Secondly, when houses share a common design, it will be easier for the local government to supervise the process of constructing, and to make sure that these buildings are safe for both the inhabitants and the neighbours.

On the other hand, it should be the people’s right to build their own house in their own style. A good building should satisfy all three principles of durability, utility, and beauty. It should not only be strong in design and be built to last a long time, but also inspire the people that live there by its aesthetic design. If each house in an area is built in a unique style, it will greatly contribute to the diverse image of the town and lift the spirit of the locals. Only when a person is satisfied and comfortable in their own house, can they feel the same outside.

In conclusion, even though there are certain justifications for houses in an area to be constructed in the same style, I am of the opinion that the state should give people the permission to build their houses according to their own ideas.