Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents, and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

Every year, a large number of injuries and deaths causes by road accidents. It could be argued that drunk driving and lenient law enforcement are the main reasons why this happen. Also, there are steps could be taken to resolve the issue.

Driving under the influence of alcohols is one of the main factors contributing to road injuries and deaths. As people tend to unable to control their mind and behaviors while being drunk, in addition to the exciting feelings induced by traveling at relatively high speed, the chances of causing accidents are likely to increase. Another reason would be lax regulation and enforcement of the law. This leads to the fact that potential offenders actually are not discouraged from committing road crime since they believe that they are not likely to be punished, even when get caught, the small fines or sentences do not act as a deterrent to them.

There are many measures governments could take to deal with the situation. Firstly, harsher fines such as license suspension for those driving after consuming alcohol should be introduced. Once people are made clearly aware of the firmness of the law, they will be reluctant to operate vehicles after drink owing to the trouble and inconvenience they can cause for their own. Moreover, traffic law should be enforced in practice with zero tolerance. This made drivers acknowledge that there would be no possibility of them being let go with their presumably minor offense, and they are certainly made hold responsible for their own criminal acts.

In conclusion, it is drivers’ irresponsible behavior and inadequate levels of law enforcement that allows road accidents to increase. Moreover, the government could make the road safer for traveling by strictly regulating road offenses in general and in drunk driving crime in particular.