Topic: Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasingly growing trend that media coverage is putting the emphasis on the misfortunate affairs rather than the positive ones. As far as I am concerned, while this may bring about relief to hapless individuals, an emphasis on negative happenings may have many harmful influences.

On the one hand, there is always a crying need for help as a result of misfortunes happening around the world. Media serve the cause of spreading the news of these to the general public. By doing this, publicity of bad news will increase the chance of alleviating the conditions of the needy for the more people in the know of the news, the more money would be devoted to the cause. For example, without the headlining of the tropical flooding in parts of Asian, the public would hardly aware of the disaster and thus it would be unlikely to help. Another function of media is to educate readers. This is why immoral conduct or inhumane acts always make headlines in most newspapers. Such publicities will bring about criticism, both constructive and unconstructive, with a view to correct those wrongdoers.

On the other hand, this trend in news reports is likely to cause negative effects on people, especially those impressionable or susceptible to mental illnesses. Gloomy coverage leads to the atmosphere of distrust and unduly vigilance for people are usually exposed to the negative happenings around them. For children, in particular, who have not yet developed the capability of sifting right from wrong, any negative report may influence their actions. For example, if their sports star was exposed for his drug abuses, there is more chance that the children will emulate his behavior.

In conclusion, there are potential advantages and disadvantages this development in media may bring. Hapless people may be people who benefit most while children are the ones who have to suffer.