Topic: Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasingly growing trend that media coverage is putting the emphasis on misfortune affairs rather than the positive ones. In my opinion, while this may bring about relief to hapless people, the focus on negative happenings may have several detrimental influences.

On the one hand, there is always a crying need for help as a result of misfortunes happening around the world. Media serve the cause of spreading the news of these to the public. By doing this, publicity of bad news will increase the chance to alleviate the conditions of the needy for the more people in the know of the news, the more money would be devoted to the cause. For example, without the headlining of the tropical flooding in parts of Asian, the public would hardly aware of the disaster and thus it would be unlikely to help. Another function of media is to educate readers. This is why immoral conduct or inhumane acts always make headlines in most newspapers. Such publicity will bring about criticisms, either constructive or unconstructive, with the likely results of correcting those wrongdoers.

On the other hand, this trend in news reports is likely to cause negative effects on people, especially those impressionable or susceptible to mental illnesses. Gloomy coverage leads to the atmosphere of distrust and unduly vigilance for people are usually exposed to the negative happenings around them. For children, in particular, who have not yet developed the full capability of sifting rights from wrongs, any negative report may influence their actions. For example, if their sports star is exposed to the public for his drug abuses, there is more chance that the children will emulate his behavior.

In conclusion, there are potential advantages and disadvantages this development in media may bring. The hapless are likely to benefit most while children are the ones who have to suffer.