Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Most criminals re-offend after being released from prison. There are several reasons for this, and solutions to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, prisons serve no purpose other than retaining offenders for a certain amount of time. Prisoners are with other criminals, and they just learned about what the others have done or about the techniques to commit crimes without being caught. As all that they learned were the negatives when out of prison, they become a worse version of themselves and can even commit more serious crimes. Moreover, the way society treats former offenders is also a major contributing factor to their reoffending. On their release, because of their criminal records, they face social exclusion and find it hard to have a job. Therefore, they will resort to crimes as a way of earning a living.

However, there are several ways to solve this problem. Firstly, the government should incorporate rehabilitation into prisons. By doing this, prisoners could be re-educated and re-trained, thus helping them become more knowledgeable and quipped with useful skills for making a living later. Secondly, the government should support offenders as well as keep an eye on them. Prisoners should be provided with jobs and supported to make them become a productive member of society. Also, they should be under the authority's supervision to make sure that they would not re-offend.

In conclusion, what criminals have learned in prison, and the way society treats them significantly affect their behaviors. Therefore, solutions with regards to these areas will effectively address the problem of reoffending