Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Some employers now prioritize formal academic qualifications over life experience and personal virtues in their job selection procedures. There are several reasons for this, and I believe this brings both positive and negative impacts.

Given the 21st century has witnessed enormous technological developments and breakthroughs, humans are experiencing changes in the way of doing things. In the employment sphere, in particular, a great number of physically demanding jobs are now carried out by automation, leaving manual workers redundant and highly skilled occupations on the rise. As highly skilled positions require specialized knowledge and skills, which only can be attained in formal studying contexts, qualifications have become quintessential.

This trend in employment brings both favorable and negative outcomes. Firstly, it provides a spur for the growth of higher education. As those with a formal degree will be preferably evaluated, higher education will become essential if one’s future career is guaranteed. This will lead to an increasing number of university goers, thus creating a highly educated and knowledgeable workforce, which is a deciding factor in enhancing the country’s economic prosperity. Regarding adverse impacts, when less valued, the life experience of a student will be restricted to just school settings or even the library, where they burn the midnight oil for the sake of achieving a greater qualification. This will cause them to be ill-prepared for their adult life, which requires more than academic knowledge.

In conclusion, the rising popularity of highly skilled jobs due to technological advancements is the main culprit why employers make formal education attainment their main consideration when choosing their employees. This development has both advantages and disadvantages.