Advantages and disadvantages of overseas studying

Many high school-leavers choose to go abroad to further their education. While there are several benefits for students who do this, there are also some possible drawbacks.

On the one hand, the option to study overseas is attractive for several reasons. Firstly, students are exposed to an entirely different culture and experience a completely different way of living. This helps students to become more knowledgeable and open individuals. Another advantage is that they could acquire a new language more effortlessly and quickly. Being surrounded by native speakers leads them to build up their vocabulary fast and speak more fluently. Finally, since more developed countries are often preferred destinations among students, the qualifications acquired in these nations tend to be prestigious and highly valued. As a result, when students return their home country, they are more able to compete with the domestic labor workforce.

On the other hand, there are also many disadvantages of overseas studying. Students are likely to suffer homesickness when facing unfamiliar food and surroundings on their own or to struggle to blend in. In many cases, students are just able to make friends with people of the same nationality, or even worse are completely isolated and alienated, which are harmful to their mental health. Moreover, the costs of living tend to be high, which can cause students to resort to student loans. If these loans are not well-managed, students may end up being caught in financial troubles later when they finish school.

In conclusion, overseas studying has both advantages and disadvantages.