Some people think that bicycle is the best way to travel from place to place. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of travelling by bicycle.

Many people believe that the bicycle is the most effective mode of transportation. There are many benefits and drawbacks to traveling by bicycle.

On the one hand, there are many clear advantages of traveling from place to place by using a bicycle. On the environmental perspective, bicycles are considered as the most viable alternative for transport purposes owing to its inherently environmentally friendly quality. Unlike many other vehicles, the bicycle does no harm to our surroundings because it does not emit carbon dioxin gas which has been proved to be one of the prime causes of greenhouse warming. Moreover, nearly everyone can afford a bicycle as it is low-cost and requires little maintenance work. Above all, traveling by bicycle make riders exert energy so that it helps to improve their health which is gradually detrimentally affected by the sedentary way of living.

On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages to bicycles. The reason why many people still favor other vehicles such as cars or trains over bicycles is that the bicycle is unfit for short-distance travel. People may opt for a bike when it comes to strolling around a small town but they are unlikely to do so if they are going to commute from one State to another. Moreover, many commuters considered using bicycles is a waste of time given the fast-pace of lives in many metropolises. Because working people are busier than ever before, they are struggling to juggle between work and life. This demands more time available to them for overcoming hectic working schedule as well as for recreational activities. Using a bicycle to travel to and from work do nothing but prevent them from getting right such work-life balance.

In conclusion, traveling by bike has certain benefits and drawbacks. It would depend on certain circumstances for deciding whether to choose a bike for traveling.