A few language are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that a few languages are spoken by a majority of the Earth’s population whereas others are being left behind as the world becomes a homogenous, global society. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, the decline in the use of a language could have a negative impact on the language-speaking communities. Firstly, language is of great cultural importance. As a language is dying out, so too does the community’s culture and heritage. Written documents such as stories or myths will not be understood by the future generations or even the elderly are dying without passing on knowledge to their posterity. This will lead to a permanent disconnection between the young generations with their ancestors, therefore, a lack of a sense of identity would be inevitable.

On the other hand, the expansion of some languages could bring several benefits to individuals and the nation as a whole. Trading between countries will be immensely facilitated because communication has been improved. In terms of individuals, the dominance of some so-called international language could drive them to learn a different language apart from their mother tongue. This would greatly benefit them as a person since exposure to different languages and cultures will broaden their horizons and help them have a more objective outlook on the world.

In conclusion, while it is worrying that many languages are on the brink of extinction, the increasing popularity of others could be beneficial for society and individuals.