Topic: In some countries, it is illegal if employers reject someone because of his or her age. Do you think this is a negative or positive development?

In some developed and democratic countries, there are already laws to criminalize the practice of rejecting job applicants based on their age. Although in some cases, this serves to marginalize and punish those committing discriminatory acts, for the most part, this hurts those professions which age is an essential parameter/metric.

There are good reasons why some governments have outlawed ageists in the hiring process. Inequality of employment opportunity is increasingly exacerbated by ageist discrimination. In America, for example, a majority of job applicants have their application rejected simply due to their age. This is unreasonable and unacceptable because employers have not yet either to consider other important factors or to meet the candidate in person to impartially judge their suitability and merits but only ruled them out based on the fact that they are seemingly older than the job description. Such recruiting practice is unfair and is depriving people of the employment opportunity, and in the long term, this also adversely affected those businesses themselves because of their biases and partiality.

However, there are many fields that it would be risky and inappropriate for the post to be offered without regarding of applicant’s age. For example, MP or Member of Parliament which is just an extremely important position is now only offered for those of eighteen or above. Due to the extensive knowledge and experience needed to function as a representative of his or her public, those younger are believed to not have sufficient factors to be up for the job. Other professions would be in the entertainment industries which value age and physical appearance over merits such as acting and runway modeling. After all, to ensure viability and prosperity of their business, filmmakers or high-end fashion brands must cater to their customers’ interest, even the lowest taste which favors young and beautiful performers rather than true artistic values.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of government’s legal approach against ageists outweigh advantages. In the long run, it causes harm to many areas that candidates' age is necessary to be considered.