Some people hold that we should spend amount of time and money on the protection of wild animals. Some people argue that they should be spent on human populations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that money should be spent on human needs rather than on animal species’ protection and preservation. In my opinion, both these areas are so crucial that it would certainly impossible to choose one over another.

Money and time should be allowed to spend in the protection of wild animals and endangered species in particular. As stewards of the animal kingdom, we as human have a duty to treat other animals humanely. However, this duty has been usually undermined by the acts of profit-driven and outlaw poachers. Secondly, animals have an important role to play in human survival. Being at the top of the food chain would bring no benefits if all kinds of animal died out since there would be nothing left to serve human purposes of food, entertainment or means of production and so on.

There are many parts of the world where our fellow human is desperately expecting our help. Starvation and famine have taken millions’ lives and there some places where basic sanitation means and medicines are still of a luxury that most people cannot afford. Financial aids should be directed towards these regions rather than the welfare of our more distant relatives. In addition, we are faced with more serious existential issues which climate change brings. Earthquakes, tropical floods and droughts happening in a more frequent basic caused serious damages to the property and human lives. Sending disaster relief to help minimize such disastrous consequences would be a more sensible way forward.

In conclusion, although there are always urgent needs around the world, we can deny our responsibility to other animal species and the importance of them in our lives. It is a job of government to distribute resources and effort more appropriately and effectively.