Many people say that universities should only be offered to young students with high marks, others say that they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There exists a contentious topic about whether only young students with good academic results should be offered higher education or everyone of all ages and academic capabilities can attend universities. In my opinion, I believe that the opportunity of pursuing university education should be given to anyone, regardless of how old they are and how well they perform at school.

Some might argue that the high achieving young students are the only group of people who should be provided university education. This group is believed to be capable of efficiently acquiring advanced knowledge at universities and later be successful in demanding occupations like doctor or lawyer. Besides, accepting below average students or over-age ones to tertiary education is considered a waste of time and resources as these people may not be able to respond to the graduation requirements. It is believed that students with average marks are not competent enough and over-age students have passed their prime time to obtain new knowledge.

However, I support the opposite because the practice of selective opportunity would be the culprit for widening inequality in our social. Everyone should be given access to education equally. If not, the already gifted students at school would be even more excellent in their professions, while the less talented ones would have less chance to compete for a proper job (for example, high paying jobs) when they enter the workforce. This could eventually create a disparity between the wealthy and the poor, thus slows down the development rate of the society.

In conclusion, to build a more developed and sustainable society, equal opportunities of pursuing higher education are suggested to be given to everyone.