Many people say that we now live in "consumer societies" where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our life.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Material things are becoming more and more crucial in defining happiness. While many people believe that the society is over-estimating their necessity, others consider it as fundamental in enhancing our lives. In my opinion, I firmly agree with the initial opinion.

It is understandable that such people are in favor of emphasizing wealthy and its pleasure. Practical things are one of the key elements of a pleasant life. For example, poor citizens in Africa hardly feel happy because they do not even have sufficient food and clothes. In addition, it is undeniable that money can be an ideal motivation for many people. That is why everyone works hard to earn a living. High salary is considered to be rewarding encouragement for workers to perform their tasks more effectively. Nestle, a company specializes in health-care products, has recorded a significantly exceeding productivity since 2009 when they increased their labor cost.

However, in most cases, people are being too materialistic. Dignity is now being undervalued than estate. There are many who can do whatever it takes to be wealthy. Consider burglars, who have no sense of shame, may even severely damage others to burgle their possessions. Moreover, there is much injustice due to one’s social background. Sometimes, wealthy people are favored than poor ones in view of services’ quality, although they both spend the same amount of money. A Harvard survey conducted in one thousand randomly picked hotels in South America demonstrated that employees there tend to provide better service to customers who look privileged.

To conclude, albeit the sense of materialism is motivating social’s development, I believe sometimes they are being over-used.