Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all.

Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

In recent decades, the trend of having no children or fewer babies in developed countries has been receiving a great deal of public attention from the communities. Although there are a whole host of reasons for these options, some drawbacks are still more significant.

There are many reasons why most people have no interest of becoming parents or decided to have fewer babies. First, since they have a tendency to spend most of their time on their career development, they refuse to become parents. In fact, they take a huge responsibility for their current jobs, spending more time with higher commitment, which helps them to get higher positions at work and have no time for babies. Second, these individuals have a desire to bring up their children with the best quality of education, they opt for having fewer babies. It means they are likely to prosinating parenthood to save up enough money and accumulate fundamental knowledge in raising children, therefore they usually have fewer children compared with others.

On the other hand, this trend has some downsides that should be taken into consideration. First, this can be detrimental to the national economy. It means this trend can increase the elderly population rate and result in the shortage of labor force at the younger ages, thus making more burdens on economy and medical care policies for elderly people, for instance. Second, by having one son in a family, it can be attributed to lack of family bond. For example, children are one of the main factors that stick husbands and wifes, therefore, having a few babies can lead to increase the divorce rate.

In conclusion, the problem that couples are not keen on becoming the parenthood or choose to have fewer children appears many drawbacks. By considering many pros and cons carefully, they will have the best decision for themselves.