Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Nowadays, lots of students decide to take a year off to travel or get personal experience between leaving high school and go to the next education. From my point of view, that takes some beneficial, and I agree with this notion. In the following essay, I will discuss the effectiveness of this plan.

First of all, students can have time to visit and explore many places before becoming a freshman in college. Whole this time, they can meet people working in a variety of occupations that some of these may affect their picking in the university. For instance, they can take on the jobs in stores, hotels, etc. for a time; or others who want to join a foundation for more advanced studies also can do the professions such as shops or restaurants manager, office worker and so on. These experiences may impact their decision for higher education too. In contrast, a person who chooses to go to the next studies immediately may not have a clear imagination of decision to pick their majors for university courses.

Furthermore, many students also choose to work for an organization. This helps them to get many valuable experiences as well as real understanding. To illustrate this point, a fresher has the practical knowledge of his (her) speciality as he (she) worked already before, it may put a theory into practice easily in the lessons.

To summarise, travel to different places or work in somewhere in a year before going to the further education may improve many skills, and can get more opinion to select the choices for college.