Media is focusing on issues and emergencies rather than positive development which is harmful to individuals and the society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The media is said to be part of what shapes public opinion with its extensive information networks. Much of what people gather from these media outlets are centered on problems and controversies that pay little attention to good stories. While most blame the media for the occurring individual and societal regression, there are reasons to disagree.

Critics are likely to suggest that the media has shifted its attention towards debatable issues in order to gain public attention. Headlines seen lately offer sensationalized political, environmental, or even trivial matters all in order to gather viewership or ratings. Drama, after all, draws the attention of the common folk. This is seen to cause harm as the negative thinking being fed to the people plants the feeling of distrust towards one another. Eventually, this results to public fear that consequently shakes social foundations of trust towards institutions like the government.

Despite this constant attack on the media, the pressure should not be placed on them to create a more positive atmosphere. Although the media is partly a business reliant on popularity, similar to other industries it has limitations that prevent it from overselling products, which in this case is news. The media has obligations to the public, so regulations and policies have been set up by them as well as the government in order to maintain information neutrality. This protects the citizenry from being coerced to take action based simply on the media’s whim. Given that what the media releases is essentially neutral, the issue then lies not on what the media provides but rather how the people and society perceive and interpret the said details, be it beneficial or sensitive news. All along, the public has created its own fears that let society slowly degrade.

In conclusion, the media has remained true to its function of creating awareness while still remaining unbiased.