Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the history of mankind, it is true that people around the world had different views in terms of the role of space exploration when a great deal of money have been invested in this sector. In my opinion, while I agree that enhancing living standards of humanity is the top priority of the government, I still believe that the investment in space research can be paid off someday in the future.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why pouring money into raising standards of life of inhabitants is far more pivotal. The first reason to support it is that many regions on Earth are enduring economical deprivation, which deserve immediate government funding. To illustrate, we can see from thousands of people in Africa, a country which is infamous for poverty, are starving in the default of basic necessities such as food or eventually fresh water. Therefore, money should be directed toward this region to eliminate poverty and help the locals climb higher in social ladder instead of squandering on space programs. Moreover, subsidizing educational facilities and quality could also be vital and desperately need investment from ministries themself. Without diverting heavily in such area, literacy and numeracy rate could drop in the foreseeable future, not to mention national economy could also be in recession in the long run.

On the other hand, I believe that space research could benefit inhabitants as well to some extent indicating that its might help deal with overpopulation and natural crisis resources. It stands to reason that we human beings have been facing unprecedented overpopulation and resource problem in many recent decades, which can be tackled only by discovering habitable planets and mining on there. Conducting universal travels could, therefore, bring a solution if astronauts could find other non-earth planets that accommodate the huge number of residents all over the world. Humans are also encountering the crisis with regard to natural resources scarcity such as rare metals and oil, which might flourish in other planets. If, for example, these planets could be sought out, then it is highly likely that World Wars for the purpose of resources could no longer exist.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although the mission to improve living standards of ordinary people is greatly important, the investment in space travel could also value considerably.