Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countries such asAustralia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college oruniversity.Why do so many people want to study in English?Why is English such an important international langu

Language forms the basis of communication. No communication can be effective unless backed by a good medium and language effectively is that medium. English has emerged out to be a global language and in non-English speaking countries, it is not considered a foreign language anymore and emphasized as the primary communication language in offices and other institutions.

Rapid industrialization and globalization in the late 19th century have made this world a global village. During this period ample job opportunities were created and people started to migrate to developed countries for better job prospects. This process is prevalent in today's world as well. In developing countries, the resources are insufficient and quality of education is poor. Thus, a large number of students from developing countries move to English speaking countries in order to seek better education, quality of life and career options. Furthermore, English is a popular language and is widely spoken in many parts of the world. Thus, they have an option of settling in any English speaking country like Australia, UK, Canada or the United States and leading a better life afterward.

Analyzing the statement further, there are countless reasons for the popularity of English language. Firstly, it fulfills the need for a common language. A large number of people understand it as it is widely taught from early childhood. Secondly, it is immensely popular in offices, schools, and universities. It allows for global cultural exchange and bringing the world closer. Additionally, the technology and scientific developments in the recent years have been predominately in the English language. No other language enjoys such a level of popularity.

To recapitulate, learning English from an English speaking country opens doors for a bright future and allows for effective communication. Hence, it should be taught in schools from very early days. Students must be encouraged to communicate in English using play-way methods. Emphasis on its importance in future prospects must be made through awareness campaigns. Learning the language from childhood days allows students to be proficient in English and fare well in future.