Nowadays, full-time university student tend to focus on their studying. Some people think it is essential for university students to be involved in other activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

University education plays an imperative role in shaping career of a student. It presents an opportunity to gain knowledge and makes an individual adept in handling work better. In order to get good jobs and have a bright future, education is a prerequisite.

It is lucid from the statement that full-time university students focus more on their studies these days. A number of reasons support this statement. Firstly, students are more concerned about their future these days and are very serious towards their studies. Alumni of reputed universities and business schools are preferred over others who graduate from Tier 2 or lower institutions. Secondly, education is quite expensive these days. Some students, who study through financial grants and loans, tend to more serious towards their studies as they need to clear their financial debt as soon as possible. All these reasons prompt individuals to be diligent towards their education and stay focused.

Another school of thought holds an ideology that it is essential for students to be active in other activities as well. I am in strong agreement with this thought as education is directly related to the overall development of an individual. Pursuing hobbies and extra-curricular activities present an opportunity for personality development which is equally important these days. Corporations and businesses prefer individuals who are adept in all verticals of business. The students with good personality have better chances of succeeding at leadership roles and can tackle problems effectively.

To recapitulate, focusing on the academic study is important for university students. However, at the same time, the importance of extra-curricular activities cannot be neglected. Colleges and universities change their curriculum and incorporate activities that allow overall development of students. Students are building blocks of a nation and providing them with better opportunities of learning will contribute to nation building.