In modern life, it is possible to shop, work and communicate via the internet without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that a wide variety of everyday tasks, including shopping and working, are being carried out online, without in-person contact. Personally, I believe this trend brings both positive and negative consequences.

On the one hand, the trend towards conducting day-to-day tasks through the Internet could raise people’s standards of living. Firstly, the birth of Internet shopping has benefited people who are too busy to shop in brick-and-mortar stores or those with disabilities and cannot leave their homes. Giving people the ability to shop without coming to physical stores helps them save time or fulfill their lives in a way that offline shopping never can. Secondly, social media has allowed us to talk to people from the other side of the world. This helps to boost productivity as information can be exchanged more rapidly and precisely, avoiding interruptions and delays. Moreover, people can enjoy more flexible working schedules because they can work without having to enter the office.

However, this trend could have its disadvantages. Face-to-face contact plays a crucial role in developing people’s social skills. Although people can chat or text each other, they have fewer opportunities to enhance their body language skills or the capability to read people’s facial expressions. Besides, if people are too absorbed in the online world, they are more likely to distance themselves from reality. This means that they are less eager to invest in building and developing real-life relationships, most of which are healthier than virtual ones.

In conclusion, with the help of the Internet and technology, people can lift some of their burden of daily tasks. However, this trend could also harm people’s relationship and their social ability.