Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from Internet for no charge.To what extend is this a positive or a negative development?

The arrival of the advanced technology has markedly influence human life in various aspects. In terms of listening to music and reading the books, before the emergence of internet, people could only do this by listening to radio or going to the bookstore. However, nowadays people are able to download any music and books for free. I believe this development is negative to the society, and the opinions would be elaborated in the following paragraphs.

It is immoral unethical to download the music and books on the internet for free. The writers of the book and the music makers spare no effort to accomplish their tasks which their livelihood depend on. However, people are entitled to download the popular music and renowned book story arbitrarily on the internet. For illustration, recently, people around the world are capable of downloading the music uploaded in website called “Youtube” for free. This not only breaches the social norms of moral and ethics, but also damages the value of writer and music composers. As a result, it is unjustifiable for people to download the music and books for free on the internet.

Apart from the reason argued above, downloading the books and music for free on the internet is detrimental to the music makers and writers. Once people are competent to possess the complimentary music and books, they are unlikely to buy the album and books in the music market and bookstore. In this case, there would be notable stagnation and diminishing in the sales of the album and books. Subsequently, the incomes of the writers and music makers may curtail.

Admittedly, the availability of the music and books on the internet is impartial to every individual and the entire society. In this case, certain underprivileged people could access to the music and books without paying. However, I opine that every person is supposed to be charged due to the fact that we should conform to the norms of ethics and morals.

To conclude, as argued above, I am convinced that people should be limited to download free music and books on the internet because it is immoral and would jeopardize the livelihood of the writers and music makers.