in the modern world, more and more emphasis is being replaced on the acquisition of practical skills rather than knowledge from books and other resources. discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Recently, there has been a significant push towards learning practical skills. This trend has many advantages such as the ability to gain hands-on experience as well as disadvantages, namely the inability of some to learn without the use if text based methods. Both the benefits and drawbacks will be discussed hereafter.

The benefits of learning practical skills are numerous. firstly, it allows the learners to gain real experience by actually performing a task. While anyone is capable of reading how to repair an engine, it is not until a person has physically performed the feat that they can truly understand all of the intricacies involved. Secondly, acquiring a practical skill set makes an individual well-rounded. They are likely to handle unforeseen problems which had not been mentioned in written forms. Finally, hands-on experience, or at the very least experience, is highly sought after by employers. No longer are companies willing to waste parts of their budgets on training when they stipulate that they require potential workers to already possess practical skills.

On the other hand, relying only on skills of a practical nature presents many drawbacks. To begin with, many students who have never been subject to anything but theoretical knowledge may be unable to new concepts without first reading about them. In addition, many schools are incapable of providing a hands-on skill set due to a lack of facilities or an already over-stretched budget. Moreover, changing from text-based learning to practical methodology places undue stress upon an administrator. Teachers must be constantly up to date with advancements in their fields' and have the capabilities to perform or recreate new findings or methods flawlessly.

In conclusion, the aforementioned pros and cons display that there are many strengths and weaknesses associated with educational facilities devoting more time and resources toward the implementation of empirical knowledge. Personally, while many students do lack this type of skill set, they would be unable to succeed unless it was taught in conjunction with theoretical knowledge.