In the modern world, people are no longer necessary to use food from animals or product from animals such as medicine and clothing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is no longer necessary for people to kill animals for food and other products such as medicine and clothing. Personally, I think there is little to disagree with this assertion, as I will explain now.

Firstly, slaughtering animals for food is simply unnecessary as we now can grow vegetables sustainably to meet our survival needs, depending much less on weather conditions thanks to advances made in the field of agriculture. Of course, one might argue that animals' meet contains high amounts of protein, which is essential for muscle growth, healthy blood and organs in human body, while most vegetables seem to lack this vital nutrient. However, we can always offset the lack of protein in our diet by eating protein-rich vegetables like spinach or broccoli, rendering eating food from animals to get enough protein unnecessary.

Besides this, it is not a necessity that we use animals for the production of medicine and clothing. With regard to medical products, most medicines now are already being synthesized and mass produced by pharmaceutical companies worldwide, and this can be seen in the production of aspirin, antibiotics and antidepressants, to name but a few. As for clothing, killing animals for their skins or furs to make clothes, belts and shoes is no longer needed since we can also synthesize artificial materials that are of similar quality and aesthetic value.

In conclusion, we now could live comfortably without resorting to killing animals for food, medicine or clothing. I take this view on account of the fact that there is plenty of vegetables that could sufficiently replace animals' meet and that medicines and clothing materials can be synthesized, eliminating the need to kill animals for their skins, furs or medical properties.