More and more people choose unusual places for travel such as Arctic and Sahara.

What are the advantages and disadvantage of this?

Perceived as one of the main form of entertainments for many years, tourism has expended to remote areas with extreme conditions. Visiting such places not only will offer a first-hand experience of exploring the flora and fauna of them, but will also help people to avoid tourist traps. Nevertheless, accessing to these destinations, in many cases, is very hard, and sometimes dangerous.

One of the main positives of traveling to less-frequented tourist attractions which are located in extreme places is the opportunity to spend time in unspoiled nature, to enjoy the relaxation, and to have a unique feeling. To illustrate, watching the natural behavior of a polar bear through binoculars can give one an unforgettable memory that no other means, including movies and books, can offer. Furthermore, the relatively low number of visitors means everyone could enjoy the atmosphere and the vibe without being worry about the noise pollution from other travelers or being lost among the crowd, contributing to foster a feeling of relaxation and satisfaction.

In contrast, transportation to these remote areas could be tedious and complicated, and in some situations, risky. Going to these places often involves long road trips and walks in rugged lands. To reach the Loot desert, for example, one should ride a camel for more than 10 hours. Additionally, the safety is another important concern although many try to take preventative measures such as using secure paths and hiring local guides. Undoubtedly, hiking unpaved paths might significantly increase the chance of injury, which assumes more importance as the access to any medical facilities could be very hard, if not impossible. Therefore, it is very important that everyone be given adequate information about the potential dangers associated with these trips.

To sum up, the number of travelers to conditionally extreme places is on the rise. Going to such destinations will provide a context in which one can explore and enjoy the details of these environments without the pressure of the crowd, although the journey may be ardeous and risky.