More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In society today, the number of people who tend to purchase items such as attires, automobile and other things from big brand names is increasing. The reasons behind this trend will be outlined in this essay, in my perspective, this tendency brings both advantage and disadvantage consequences.

To begin with, the bias of using branded merchandises mostly stems from people's beliefs on possessions reflecting wealth, social status and appearance. In addition, commodities like clothes and accessories from famous brands like Hermés and Louis Vuitton with high quality and fashionable designs. Therefore, guys, especially young individuals, believe that those outfits are shopping list to update their outside. Additionally, some types of productions having a great value like cars from luxurious trademark are usually sold at exorbitant prices because of their expensive materials and unique features. Hence, these items are often considered as a tool for the rich to get social admiration and show off their affluence and social class.

On the other hand, more and more people consuming goods from globally recognised brands also bring alarming drawbacks. Only using opulent products has been killing those of less well-known brands and that has been afflicting local trademarks. For example, international mobile brands, such as Samsung, Apple, Oppo,.. are still dominating the smartphone market in VietNam compared to local mobile brands. Furthermore, there is a fact that youth assume that merchandises from up-market are status symbols and that has made many people get into debt. For instance, following a survey of People's Daily in China, young people in this country are facing " big trouble" because of the habit of overspending. Details, 53% of college student borrowed money to buy precious items such as Apple tablets or iPhone phones that can not afford to pay off debt.

In conclusion, the trend of consumer goods from high-end brands comes from people's perception of personal belongings showing their wealth, social status and appearance. Although this tendency can generate some benefits, I think the negative far outweighs such positive.